“Angelo James’ Italy Adventure”

August 20, 2008 at 4:10 am (I-ME-MYSELF) ()

Christmas vacation came, and family gatherings relentlessly came forward. Could somebody resist the beauty of Italy primarily during Christmas day? Honestly, I could not resist it. Probably because, my beloved country, Philippines, did not be able to let me experience the environment that this country could offer me. We don’t have white Christmas in the Philippines, we don’t have snows, and we don’t have cool and fresh breeze. What else could I ask for?

Four years ago, my family and I decided to celebrate our Christmas vacation in Italy. At first I was very excited about this, because not everyone in this world has given the opportunity to celebrate their vacations abroad. This kind of vacation, I knew, would cost my family a lot. But then, they told me that this is a once in a lifetime experience, just be thankful and enjoy it.

Italy is renowned for its olive oil, pasta, pizza, wine, and of course sunshine, and year-round great weather. Simply stated, Italy is “la dolce vita” (the sweet life), and many people that travel to this incredible country never want to leave.

Italy has been the home of many European cultures, such as the Etruscans and the Romans, and later was the birthplace of the movement of the Italian Renaissance. Italy‘s capital Rome has been the center of Western Civilization, and is the center of the Catholic Church.

Today, Italy is a democratic republic, and a developed country with the 7th-highest GDP (nominal) and the 17th-highest Human Development Index rating in the world. It is a founding member of what is now the European Union (having signed the Treaty of Rome in 1957), and also a member of the G8, the Council of Europe, the Western European Union, and the Central European Initiative. Beginning January 1, 2007, Italy became a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council. Italy is also a modern great power, and a regional power.

After this unforgettable adventure, I come to realized that Italy has always been a great place. Its richness in economic, military and geographical state appeals to be the reason why this country managed to prepare and orderly help their citizens. I enjoyed my vacation, as well as I have learned a lot from this country.

1 Comment

  1. aarondave said,

    agree.🙂 i love this post :]

Leave a Reply

